العصر الجديد للبنية التحتية التقنية

البنية التحتية التقنية في تحول، والاستثمار في ممكني الغد أمر بالغ الأهمية في تشكيل عالمنا الرقمي

في السابق، كان المفهوم السائد هو أن البنية التحتية التقنية ما هي إلا أجهزة ومعدات تشغل قطاعات مختلفة من الاقتصاد، مثل أبراج الاتصالات والألياف الضوئية والكابلات البحرية وما شابه. وطالما كانت هذه هي فكرتنا عن البنية التحتية التقنية. أما الآن، فقد تغير هذا المفهوم، وأصبحت البنية التحتية التقنية هي مجموعة البرمجيات التي تدعم الاقتصادات على نطاق واسع، مثل أنظمة الدفع، ومنصات الاتصال، والأسواق الالكترونية ومنصات الخدمات الشاملة، وغيرها الكثير. ولقد تطورت هذه البرامج لتصبح ركائز أساسية لاقتصادٍ فعال. وقد شهدنا جميعاً، على مستوى العالم، كيف ساهمت منصات التوصيل المدعومة بتمويل رأس المال الجريء (الشركات الناشئة) في دعم سلاسل الإمداد الغذائية في مختلف البلدان والمناطق أثناء فترات الإغلاق التي تسببت بها جائحة كوفيد-19. اليوم، تقودنا هذه الشركات والاستثمارات إلى عصر جديد من البنية التحتية التقنية.

 ونعتز بالاستثمار ودعم العديد من المشاريع الطموحة في بناء البنية التحتية التقنية. من الضروري الإشارة إلى أن نجاح أي شركة ناشئة في البنية التحتية يتطلب التوقيت المناسب والصبر وتعاوناً لا يقتصر على توفير التمويل وحسب. لذلك، نتبع دائماً في ميراك استراتيجية مركزة في استثماراتنا، لضمان توفير الجهد المطلوب، بدءاً من الاستفادة من موارد دعم متنوعة (الشبكة الاجتماعية، المواهب والتوظيف، المعرفة التقنية، وجمع الاستثمارات) إلى المساعدة في تنفيذ المهام والاهداف التشغيلية لشركات المحفظة.

هايبرباي، أحد شركات المحفظة، تقوم بتمكين مليارات الدولارات سنوياً من المدفوعات الرقمية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا. واستطاعت شركة المدفوعات المحلية، والتي يقع مقرها الرئيسي في الرياض، منافسة شركات عالمية عملاقة والوصول إلى القمة، لتصبح هايبرباي شركة الدفع الأكثر تكاملاً تقنياً ومحلياً في المملكة العربية السعودية والمنطقة. ولم تكتف هايبرباي بتقديم خدمات الدفع الالكترونية الاساسية، بل كمثال أحد المنتجات المتقدمة يوفر تقنيات بنكية تقوم بتقسيم العملية الشرائية على عدة أطراف مختلفة مما يتيح اتمام تحويلات مصرفية سلسة وفورية للعديد من الأسواق الالكترونية والمنصات الحكومية وشركات التوصيل. كما أن الشركة تعد اليوم بوابة الدفع الوحيدة المرتبطة مباشرة بخدمة مدى للشراء عبر الإنترنت (من دون وسيط)، إلى جانب نظامي فيزا وماستركارد. ونتيجة لذلك، تتحول هايبرباي إلى عصب رئيس للبنية التحتية للمدفوعات الرقمية، رسخت جذورها في المملكة العربية السعودية ونمت لتصبح شركة محلية رائدة في المنطقة.

 وتتضمن محفظة ميراك شركات أخرى في طريقها لتكون جزء من البنية التحتية التقنية لقطاعاتها مثل قيود، بِت أُواسيس، وديناري كاش. قيود هي أحد حلول البرمجيات كخدمة (SaaS) المطورة في المملكة العربية السعودية، وتعمل على إدارة الشؤون المالية والمحاسبية للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة. ولأهمية دورها المحاسبي كحجر أساس للشركات، تقوم قيود بتطوير عدداً من المنتجات والخدمات التي لم تكن متوفرة سابقاً (مثل الاحتياجات الضريبية والخدمات المصرفية الإلكترونية)، وفي الوقت ذاته تخدم مئات العملاء المتزايدين في المملكة العربية السعودية والدول المجاورة. أما بالنسبة لبِت أُواسيس، فقد تأسست في عام 2015 لتكون أول منصة لتبادل الأصول الرقمية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، وهي مرخصة حالياً بموجب الإطار التنظيمي الجديد لسوق أبو ظبي العالمي. وبما يخص ديناري كاش، فهي تعمل على إدارة تعاملات بملايين الدولارات من الحوالات الدولية للشركات والأفراد في المنطقة عبر مسارات تحويل مختلفة. وتضم المنطقة العديد من مسارات التحويل الدولية الأكثر استخداماً في العالم (مثل السعودية، الامارات، وغيرهم)، وتتمتع ديناري كاش بمكانة استراتيجية عالية لتكون لاعباً أساسياً في تحول قطاع الحوالات الدولية في المنطقة.

واليوم، تسعى ميراك للاستثمار في مؤسسين الغد للبنية التحتية التقنية. فسواء كان مجال العمل هو التقنية المالية أو الخدمات اللوجستية أو غيرها من القطاعات الأخرى، طالما المؤسسين يسعون للمساهمة في بناء الاقتصاد الرقمي وأن يكونوا جزءاً أساسياً من القطاع الذي يعملون فيه لسنوات قادمة، فنحن مهتمون بالشراكة معهم. فلسفتنا هي الاستثمار بقناعة وتركيز شديدين مع رواد الأعمال المساهمين في تشكيل مستقبلنا التقني. إذا كنت تؤسس ما تعتقد أنه سيكون مشروعاً بالغ الأهمية لمستقبل قطاع معين، اتصل بنا على investments@merak.capital.

ميراك المالية تعلن إطلاق أعمالها كشركة استثمار متخصصة في قطاع التقنية

  ميراك المالية هي شركة إدارة أصول مرخصة من قبل هيئة السوق المالية السعودية تركز على الاستثمارات في قطاع التقنية عبر مختلف فئات الأصول كالمال الجريء والملكية الخاصة (رقم الترخيص 18194-32). ١٩يوليو 2020؛ الرياض، المملكة […]

The New Age of Technology Infrastructure


Technology infrastructure is transforming, and investing in the enablers of tomorrow is crucial in shaping the future of our digitized world.

Traditionally, we have always known technology infrastructure to be the hardware components powering different sectors of the economy, such as towers, fiber optics, underwater cables, and the like. This is how we have always defined technology infrastructure. Now, this has changed. Technology infrastructure has become the software layer that supports economies at scale. Our payment systems, communication platforms, online marketplaces, service aggregators, and many more. These software components have evolved to become crucial pillars to a highly functioning economy. We all experienced, on a global scale, how venture-backed delivery services powered food supply chains across different geographies during the lockdowns caused by the pandemic. Nowadays, these technology ventures are leading us into the new age of technology infrastructure.

We have invested and supported several aspiring technology infrastructure ventures that are placed at the foundation of their respective verticals. It is imperative to mention for an infrastructure venture to succeed; it needs timing, patience, and collaborative effort that goes beyond the capital invested. As a result, we always follow a concentrated strategy in our investments, to ensure that the needed effort is afforded, from being resourceful across different needs (network, recruiting, technical knowledge, and fundraising) to hands-on support in operating tasks and objectives of portfolio companies.

HyperPay, a payment portfolio company, powers billions of dollars on an annual basis of digital payments in the MENA region. Headquartered in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, the local payment company was able to compete against international giants and wrestle them to the top, becoming the most locally integrated payment company in KSA and the region. HyperPay went far and beyond simple online payments, as one product in its suite offers seamless banking transfers and payout splits which enables several marketplaces, government platforms, and delivery companies. It also stands as the only payment gateway today directly connected to Mada Online (without an intermediary), along with Visa and MasterCard systems. As a result, HyperPay is transforming into a critical infrastructure hub for digital payments, starting in KSA and growing into a regional, homegrown leader.

Other portfolio companies that are becoming foundational in their own respective industries are Qoyod, BitOasis, and Denarii Cash. Qoyod is a Saudi developed SaaS solution that manages finance and accounting for SMEs. Sitting at the center of business operations, Qoyod is developing several products and services that were previously unavailable (e.g., tax compliance and e-banking functions), while serving hundreds of growing clients in KSA and neighboring countries. As for BitOasis, it is the first digital assets exchange in MENA (launched in 2015), which is currently licensed under ADGM’s new regulatory framework. Denarii Cash, on the other hand, processes millions of dollars in international transfers for businesses and individuals in the region through remittance corridors. The region holds several of the topmost used corridors in international remittance (e.g., KSA, UAE, and others), and Denarii Cash is well-positioned to become a foundational player in the evolution of the region’s remittance industry.

Today, we seek to invest in the builders of tomorrow’s technology infrastructure. Companies that plan to reside at the bedrock of their sector. Whether it is in financial technology (FinTech), logistics, or other verticals; as long as the vision is to shape the digital economy and become a foundational piece in the economy for years to come, we are interested. Our philosophy is to invest with a focused and unrelenting conviction in the best entrepreneurs shaping our future. If you are building what you believe will be a critical venture for the future of a specific industry, contact us at investments@merak.capital.

Qoyod: Accounting and Beyond

We are happy to announce our investment in Qoyod, the Saudi-based SaaS accounting platform. The investment round of $2.1M is led by Merak Capital with participation from other investors.